Skip navigation


 

The dying eagle tumbled off the side of the ledge and fell to its doom.

Feeling strangely tired and washed out, Dandelion staggered off to the side of the cave, sat down, and took the necklace’s advice to rest. Before long her eyes closed and she fell asleep.

Nearly an hour later she woke up, feeling refreshed, disoriented, and a bit nauseous. In fact, it was the bile rising in her throat that made her wake up.

“Ah, good,” said the necklace. “You have some magical power again. Not as much as you need, but we’re no longer helpless.”

“I don’t feel so good,” said Dandelion.

“You could rest some more,” said the necklace. “Perhaps another hour . . .” it said seductively.

Dandelion pulled herself to her feet. “I don’t think so,” she said. “I felt better before I rested. If I rest again, I might just die in my sleep.”

“I need to get back to exploring, or maybe find my way back out of these caves.”

“You might need some light,” suggested the necklace.

[What did Dandelion do next?

  1. Did she use flint and steel to make a light and explore the cave?
  2. Did she use the necklace to cast “Will-o-the-wisp and explore the cave?
  3. Did she exit the cave and search the pile of trash?
  4. Did she exit the cave and continue climbing down the chasm wall?
  5. Did she exit the cave and climb up the chasm wall?
  6. Did she exit the cave and cast “fly me” to go either up or down?


Adventures of Dandelion, part 28.5
Mon, 16 Jan 2006 19:23:27 -0800

The posting of Dandelion’s attribute stats is vital to what is happening in this game.You might want to watch the relationship between Constitution (her health) and WIZ (her ability to use the necklace to cast spells).

This post also generated more comments than any other post in the series. Dandelion slept for 5 complete game turns. During that time she did nothing. Tunnels and Trolls monsters tend to regenerate when they aren’t knocking themselves out, so Dandy is actually in better shape now than she has been for several turns.

 
STR  75
Con  21
INT  70
WIZ  17
LK   40
DX   55
CHR  10
SPD  35

No response is required.


Trollwalla Commentary

 

Dandelion said… Whew! I’m still alive. And my middle name appears to be ‘the’, Naharaht, but I still enjoy the occasional roast human with fava beans and a nice Chianti. Maybe Hannibal and I bought the same cookbook. I got mine from that flying silver bookmobile. Maybe he did too.

Rraff said… Alive? not for very much longer if your Con keeps plummeting like that. I propose a write-in campaign for the next turn: TAKE OFF THE NECKLACE! HURL IT INTO THE PIT!

Toll said… The necklace merely wants to be her best friend. You wouldn’t let your bestest friend starve to death, would you? Just a few CON points an hour. A big ogress-type like Dandelion could handle that for almost a whole day.

Naharaht said… It is a pity that the Eagle fell into the pit. I was hoping that Dandelion would barbeque it. I imagine that it would taste like chicken although a bit tougher.

Dandelion said… Ogre tires easily. Thus the mediocre (at best) CON. Ogre thinks she may participate in Rrraff’s write-in campaign.

Taran said… I knew we shouldn’t have rested poor Dandy! Then again, I voted for attack the eagle and knock it off the ledge, which happened anyway. Oh well.

Khenn Arrth said…

Voting on turn 28 is closed. The results are:

  • will-o-the-wisp: 2
  • flint and steel: 15
  • go out and search trash: 3
  • go out and climb out of cave area: 1

Dekhurrsio said… In dandelion’s continuing adventures can we make sure that she’s used up all her wiz before sleeping or chuck the necklace in the bin?

BTW I fancy eggs :o)

Vin Ahrr Vin said… “By the way — did I miss something in Dandelion’s quest? Why were sessions #24-28 numbered together?”

Dandelion the Ogre said… “I was sleeping, Vin.]

Leave a Reply

