Skip navigation


Dandelion could see the minotaur getting more nervous and angry the longer she stayed invisible. His axe also glowed brighter and brighter. She moved away from him and off to one side as quietly as she could, but she could see his big bovine ears twitching as he tracked the sound of her footsteps.

“Cancel the spell,” she told the necklace. “Prepare the strongest combat spell I can cast, but don’t cast it unless i tell you to.”

“Over here, good tax collector,” she said out loud as she shimmered back into visibility.

The Minotaur turned and saw the Ogress. They were nearly the same size, with Dandelion a bit taller, and the bull-man much wider and the shoulders. “Why did you turn invisible?” he snorted.

“You startled me for a moment, and I needed to do something.”

He was staring straight at her. “Ah, yes, I see you have found the necklace.”

“Do you know about this necklace?” she asked. “I’m not sure why I would owe any taxes, but if I owe any, I could give you this piece of jewelry. It’s very nice. Ought to pay all I owe now and perhaps for the next year or so.”

“Ha! Don’t you dare!” he huffed, taking a step backward. You owe me, Hammer the Minotaur, taxes because you want to go down to the next level, and only I have the key.”

“Oh,” said Dandelion. “Actually, I don’t want to go down there. I could have been down there already if I wanted to. All I would have had to do is climb down the rest of the chasm.”

“You couldn’t have gone down by way of the chasm,” he argued. “There’s a giant eagle there that kills anyone that goes that way.”

“Oh, I killed the eagle,” said Dandelion. “It was a good fight.”

“You killed the eagle?” said Hammer unbelievingly. “Umm, then what do you want?”

“I’d kind of like to get rid of this necklace, and leave these caves. Can you tell me how to get back to the entrance?”

“Sure, I can, but it will cost you. First, you have to keep the necklace. I don’t want it, and I thought it was safely sealed up out of harm’s way.”

“It was,” said Dandelion, but I found it.”

“Do you have any gold?” asked Hammer.

“Yes, i got some from the eagle’s nest.”

“Well, for 50 gold pieces I’ll tell you how to find the exit. For 100 gold pieces I’ll take you there. Or you can just keep wandering.”

“Do you collect a lot of gold, O Hammer? And why do the call you Hammer when you use an axe?”

“They call me Hammer because I use an axe,” said the Minotaur as if that explained everything, “and I probably have as much gold as any creature in these caverns.”

Dandy offers the necklace to Hammer. He won't take it.

“You probably shouldn’t have told her that, master,” said the uruk.

[What did Dandelion do? Did she:

  1. Pay Hammer 50 gold pieces to be told how to get out of the dungeon?
  2. Pay Hammer 100 gold pieces to be guided out of the dungeon?
  3. Tell him she’d find her own way out?
  4. Suddenly attack him with the spell the necklace has prepared?
  5. Suddenly attack him physically?
  6. Keep the conversation going? If so, what would she ask next?

Speed counts on these.]


Adventures of Dandelion, part 36.5
Tue, 31 Jan 2006 20:52:14 -0800

STR  75
Con  19 of 12
INT  70
WIZ  26
LK   40
DX   55
CHR  10
SPD  35

No response is required


Trollwalla Commentary

Dandelion the Ogre said… “…I’m not sure what to do about this necklace I’m apparently stuck with. Or what the deal is with it. Ogre is back to being stumped.”.

Toll said… “Dandelion – why not ask Hammer about it, since he’s keen for you to keep it.”.

One Comment

  1. Keep the conversation going by asking Hammer to tell her everything about the necklace.


Leave a Reply

